Tokyo Thyme – little gem in Kerrisdale

Nov 20, 2010 Saturday – Snow

It was a snowy Saturday. I took the bus to meet up with my little sister for lunch in our old neighbourhood. I read about this small Japanese restaurant in Kerrisdale from a few local blogs and Urbanspoon. It was just opening up when we walked in at noon. There were 2 other customers inside already. We were excited to see the retro and cute decor with unique chairs and light fixtures.

 

 

 

While catching up with my sister, we scanned through the menu quickly and ordered the following to test out their sushi: tamago, tobiko and toro.

Sushi at Tokyo Thyme was a flatter block compare to sushi from other places. They were still tasty and the toro and tobiko was fresh regardless but I prefer the shape and texture of traditional nirgiri sushi.

I had the Peppered Tuna Roll. The tuna is lightly seared and well seasoned with black pepper. The avocado made the roll creamy and the refreshing shiso balanced out the the flavour.

My sister wanted to order the Summer Breeze Roll but they did not have mango that day (well summer was over for a while). So she picked the Indian Summer Roll instead.

It was arranged beautifully on a blue glass plate. Lightly battered tempura green beans were crunchy. For a few bites, I almost thought those are young asparagus in the roll. Unagi and the sauce was full-flavoured, sweet and tangy. The two rolls we got were so good that we decided to order another one.

My sister loves natto and I just tried it the first time a few weeks ago. I wasn’t too sure about the after taste but I was willing to try again. So we decided on the Natto Special Roll. It had natto (fermented soybean), yamaimo (mountain yam), kaiware sprouts and shiso (Japanese mint). The roll was sprinkled with toasted black sesame. It’s just amazingly good! I was converted to a natto fan instantly! This roll was nutty, crunchy and delightful and it ended our lunch perfectly.

Service was attentive and warm even though there were only the server and the chef.

In summary, I think their rolls are better than their sushi. We are happy with this discovery and will sure return for dinner sometime in the near future. It really is a little gem in Kerrisdale.
Tokyo Thyme on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “Tokyo Thyme – little gem in Kerrisdale

Leave a Reply

