Big Lou’s for lunch after the run

June 26, Sunday – Sunny

K and I were looking for lunch option after our sunday run. She was craving for a sandwich, one on an Italian or Ciabatta. After the attempt to a few places that weren’t open so early (before 11 a.m.), we found Big Lou’s Butcher open near Chinatown.

The store was still pretty quiet at this morning hour.

20110720-010945.jpg

20110720-011014.jpg

What a nice and clean butcher shop! 🙂 I wish that I lived closer to it.

So K decided to try the Chicago Style sandwich with house made sausage. ($7.50) I blogged about this over here. And I ordered the Whole Roast Beef sandwich with AAA beef, house seasonings, red wine, onions, pan mayonnaise, french baguette. ($8.50)

20110720-011041.jpg

They were nicely wrapped with butcher’s paper and strings. 🙂

20110720-011125.jpg

20110720-011148.jpg

My sandwich was loaded with thinly sliced, heavenly juicy roasted beef. The tare and sweet red wine onion complemented well with the saltiness of the meat. The baguette held up all the goodness inside the sandwich nicely. Every bite to it was happiness. ammmm…..

While I was in this dreamy encounter with my roasted beef sandwich, K was “fighting” with her Chicago dog. The sausage was tasty but I had forgotten that K had problem with her jaw from time to time. The chewy baguette was a bit too much for her liking. Too much jaw exercise for her and she got tired from chewing. 😦 She skipped the last few bites of her baguette and ate the house made sausage by itself. K’s comment: bread was too tough but she liked the sausage.

I actually didnt’ finish my sandwich. I didn’t want to stuff myself and I saved half of it. It was still very tasty after I re-heat the beef, toasted the baguette and reassembled it for my lunch on Monday. 🙂

269 Powell Street
Vancouver, BC
Phone: (604) 566-9229
www.biglousbutchershop.com

Big Lou's Butcher Shop on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

